Silent wings


 

 

musings of emotions

of fervor and love

unpropitious moments

and the cosmos cracks

unlock the chains

deep within my soul

for closure has no music

no notion in its path

a new dawn arrives

as it lingers in lacuna

no rainbows in orbit

just an empty melody

bearing on the wings

of a withered butterfly

 

©AvdL 2011

73 Responses to “Silent wings”

  1. your words always move me xox

  2. This was full of feeling, my dear… that withered butterfly was really a sad sight.. 😦
    Powerful words, sweetie… they evoke the deepest of emotions ..
    Much liked this poem, Mandy..
    Warm hugs to you..xoxo

  3. Very inspiring and beautiful words. There is a sadness in the image you’ve portrayed of the butterfly, but it is beautiful nonetheless. Kind of gives you a cycle of life kind of feeling.

  4. The image of “just an empty melody bearing on the wings of a withered butterfly” is so beautifully sad. Beautifully crafted words Amanda xx

  5. I love this poem, it made me think – no music in closure, only the long, felt silence between deep breaths. But except for the final one, every breath, expelled, spawns another breath, with who knows what potentials riding in with it. And perhaps the new dawn your poem speaks of carries on fresh wings the most beautiful music ever heard…

    Good to ‘hear’ your voice again!

  6. Scent of my heart Says:

    Amazing combination of image, words and music! I love the most your words!

    no rainbows in orbit
    just an empty melody …

    my favorite, sad sound of the melody, but so touching.

    I didn’t know you’re from Australia, one of my very best friends is Australian and I must say I have the best of respect and honor for you people, such shiny personalities, all of you!

    I hope this tragedy with the floods hasn’t caused you troubles.

    Stay safe and be blessed!

    • I am one of the lucky ones but so much sadness is hard to see. Australians are strong and so amazing…I have been living here for almost 11 years and learn lessons from them every day!! Where in Oz does your friend live? Thank so much for the wonderful comment my friend, much appreciated oxoxox

      • Scent of my heart Says:

        My friend lives in Sydney, but I know they have some family in Queensland … May you all be alright! Regards!

  7. Time in the gap between old and new, a painful transition you depict with touching phrases, images, and song. Your artistry carries the reader gently through the murky waters of brokenness. Blessings to my friend across the water… xxoo

  8. Such a melancholy tone of love in this poem…emotions I recall all too well…but now I the cords of Bob Dylan in the background …reminding me about what really happened…”it ain’t me babe” 😉

  9. I am so sorry to hear of the devastation that has hit your country and to hear that you too have become a victim. My prayers are with you.

  10. My thoughts are with you and for your beautiful Australia.

  11. the image takes my breath away.
    wow.
    your poetry rocks.

    cheers.
    Thanks for sharing..

    A++

  12. Amanda, just read this via Jingle and I am so sorry for the devastation.
    I hope the best for you and your beautiful country.
    Pamela

  13. The pic is beautiful but your poem compliments even more. Hope all is better soon sweetie. JH

  14. beautiful yet sad images. I’m so moved by your words and the pictures in your blog. My thoughts are with you and your fellow mates in Australia. Take care of each other.

  15. The last two lines are beautiful. So sad, but with some strange form of hope. Excellent work!!

  16. Melancholy…touching…powerful. My heart goes out to all who have been affected by the floods…it is a stirring sight to see so many people willing to pitch in and help.

  17. A very beautiful combination of words and a picture…Touching poetry from the heart…The last three lines are especially powerful to me.

  18. OOO i love how butterfly had been used over here, beautifully written, Mandy >=P~~~ And hope you been well too =)~ Heard about the floods >_< Take care of yourself! 😀

  19. that was beautiful

    sorry to hear about the floods…
    you take care..

  20. Beautiful and sad, haunting qualities~
    Sending you thoughts n’ prayers!

  21. Thanks Ellen, much appreciated my friend. Big hugs xoox

  22. Dear Amanda,
    loads and loads of prayers, loveand hugs for you . Sending you positive vibes and hope you are strong,brave..You are in my prayers..Sorry forbeing a bad blogger buddy 😦 not commenting but too mired in my own gief most times..hope to get out soon.

  23. An absolutely beautiful piece! I have been contemplating “an empty melody.” I loved it. Thank you for sharing.

  24. Very dreamy, Amanda! I felt as if I was drifting along with the words.

  25. so beautiful and sad, just like a withered butterfly- as you said.

  26. Beautifully thought out and written.

    Wysteria

  27. You always touch my soul with your beautiful imagery.

  28. Moving tone that blossoms into rich, celestial and oft-dreamlike imagery. it does have that sad touch to it, true – in the tragic figure of the butterfly – but the descriptions and the image render it beautiful regardless. As with many of those come before me here, I would indeed like to extend to you my hopes and admiration for your and your countrymen. It was a terrible thing that struck you – but I am glad to see you are alright, and still writing.

    • Chris, when you write a comment, it reads like a poem…dipped in golden threads of emotion and kindness….I thank you from the heart my friend…it means more than I can ever say. oxo

  29. love the imagery of the last lines- “just an empty melody bearing on the wings of a withered butterfly”. Nice write!

  30. This is so sad! Wonderful piece, though I miss my happy Buttercup.

  31. Hi Buttercup, I’m here from Jingle’s blog. Firstly, love this piece, & love the photo as well as your personal shots.

    Second, I hope that your family and friends are safe from the devastating flood.

  32. I don’t think there’s anything more melancholy than an empty melody, I hope for happier butterfly days,

  33. …. beating on the wings of a withered butterfly … Lovely.

    Perfect post – top to bottom.

  34. Beautifully evocative 🙂 Special blessings to you, xo

  35. lifeinarecipe Says:

    ‘and the cosmos cracks’…now that is a powerful set of words…another awesome poem Amanda! Loved it!

  36. no rainbows in orbit 🙂 that line is so great… it sent me into orbit haha Well the poem is quite special – i just wanted to mention that line. I haven’t visited here for a while. But I didn’t forget about your nice blog bc600…

  37. Simply want to say your article is as astounding. The clarity
    in your post is just nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this
    subject. Fine with your permission allow me to
    grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

Leave a comment