HALLOWEEN (for Monday Potluck)


 

 

 

tonight’s the night

a harvest moon suffers

haunting the streets

cats on flying broomsticks

pumpkins are glowing

and spiders are spinning

skeletons and ghosts

even werewolves are rising

witches and magic brooms

will appear in the night

don’t stray from the path

be silent and aware

tonight’s the night

for masks and hats

as you knock on doors

for that trick or treat

this can only be

 Halloween!

 

©AvdL 2010

These are just 2 pictures of Halloween at my front door last night!!  Awesome 🙂

I wrote this for Poetry Potluck… Please do check out the other amazing creative writes.

 

 

 

 

68 Responses to “HALLOWEEN (for Monday Potluck)”

  1. Scary creatures in your are! LOL

    We don’t celebrate halloween here but if we were to do so I could always go as myself … no monster mask required!

  2. Where I live it’s so dark in the evening that no one stops by for Halloween…perhaps the howling coyotes may also discourage visits. Happy Halloween!

    • I am “thinking” of moving up the mountain some time next year Charlie, (the market is not good at this stage) I want to have a horse again and be closer to nature!! Howling coyotes you said…wow, sounds interesting!! What part of S Cal are you in? Big hugs my friend xox

  3. Hehehe, nice one.
    Shame, it was a rained out affair here; poor Chelsea settled in front of the telly and ate the sweets intended for the trick or treaters 🙂
    xxx

    • What a shame girlfriend…I thought I bought enough lollies but ran out…had about 60 kiddies stop by!!! Coco nearly had a heart attack…all those masks and faces!! Great fun though oxoxoxox Bigggg hugs to you all 🙂 xx

  4. The spirit of Halloween summed up. Good job. Happy Halloween.

  5. Great Halloween post. The witch is traveling in high witch style! Your verse for this spooky evening is perfect! Happy Halloween, Amanda. Blessings…

    • Happy Halloween to you too Carol, I am not good on writing about this topic but gave it a shot anyway. Big fun…I send you blessings my friend and hopefully I’ll be back to normal soon again, just need to take a break from all of this for a while oxoxoxox

  6. didn’t know they did trick and treat in Aus! have a super day and your poetry is awesome 🙂

    • Quite big Tandy and growing bigger every year!! Just amazing what trouble everyone goes too…Have a great day too my dear friend xoxox (or shall I say sweet dreams) oxox

  7. Wonderful poem Amanda! You really made me nostalgic about my childhood halloween days.

    Happy Halloween!

  8. Liked it so much.. and great image… too.

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  9. Great halloween poem – and your pics are awesome!

  10. Fabulous Halloween poem! You had some scary creatures show up at your door, great pics!

  11. A couple of years ago the kids in the neighbourhood were out in full force – not so this year. I don’t know if it was the weather or because they are growing up! Love your visitors, Amanda… xxx

  12. perfect description of the night,
    those images are super creepy,…

    well done.

  13. Ms. Peaches Says:

    Amanda this is a great halloween poem thanks for sharing and those pictures are GREAT!!!

    Hallows Eve…

  14. Great post, Amanda! Your muse is returning!

  15. That’s about how many kids we had total this year. It was very slow, but the ones that DID show up got LOTS of goodies!

    (I was also hoping more people would come along and see the pumpkin I worked so hard carving… oh well!)

    Nice job capturing the Halloween spirit for Microfiction Monday, Buttercup!

  16. hoho halloween oh! i am scared oh!

  17. just adorable. loved reading it.
    lots of love.

  18. Jessicas Japes Says:

    That has certainly summed up halloween for me! Good as always, babe.

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/halloween-fright/

  19. great poem and photos!

  20. thoughtsnotlost Says:

    So fun! Well written!

  21. I liked the poem and loved the photos.

    A baby in any sort of costume is always gut bustingly funny and jaw droppingly cute. My nephew went as a baby monkey this year, he’s just now mastering walking.

  22. Very nice. I enjoyed the poem and the pictures. I wonder what the baby was thinking in the second photo. Priceless. – bill

  23. Since so many of us on this island are health freaks (!) and we don’t subscribe to pouring more sugar in the mouths of living beings, community parties are taking over from the door to door event.

    It’s safer, healthier and appreciated by one and all.

    Having said that, anyone care for about 2 dozen packages of corn cheezies – which are 14% fat…ERG!

    My thoughts are very much with you, Amanda.

  24. I feel you my friend and appreciate it so much xxx

  25. Your poem really capture the spirit of halloween, great job Mandy, happy Halloween to you 🙂 xoxox

  26. Lol, awesome.
    happy halloween

  27. Very sweet. I had no trick or treaters this year. Most of the young kinds on my street are with refugee families from Burma and Togo and Somalia, as well as other places, and I don’t think they would go door to door asking for candy even if they understood it.

    However, I work in social services, and Friday afternoon was the big trick or treating for the 25 kids at the residence hall at our campus – they go among the administrative offices, and we decorate and have candy on our desks for them.

  28. Fantastic Buttercup! It also looks like you had a blast with the kids…You didn’t try to scare any kiddies did you? Hope you did it well if you did! We had fun too… take care!

  29. I can’t get used to seeing people dressed up for Halloween. It’s like anther world to me. I enjoyed your poem…but I feel real sorry for the constantly electrified, lightning struck witch. 😉

  30. very cute looking visitors for sure. 🙂

  31. I always enjoyed Halloween as a child, but I’ve never lived in a place to enjoy it as an adult giving out the treats. It looks like your night was filled with fun 🙂 Nicely done poem to boot 🙂

  32. lifeinarecipe Says:

    Loved the poem and the pictures!

  33. Excellent poem! Happy belated Halloween!

  34. Eeeee…scaaaary!!! 🙂
    Your poem brought a flasf of images racing in my head…. from last year and the year before that….
    Enjoyed every word of this one, girl! Super cool! The Cat image is sooooooooooooooo cute!!!! And the images at the bottom – AWESOME!!! 😀 I could almost EAT the little chubby kid!! heheheheh

    How r u doing, M!! I think I am back! 😉 Reading has begun too… phheewww ! It’s high time I did that anyway! 🙂
    You take care, sweets…. Tricks over! Now it’s treat time for me! 🙂
    Mwaahhhhh

  35. just received the news- congrats on your BIG win haha! cheers amanda!

  36. Scarily stunning, Amanda!! Love that lightning!

  37. Please help giving (belated) birthday wishes to 3 or 4 fellow poets:

    Happy Birthday, Eric, Dom*…

    Thanks a lot for the support.
    Happy November!
    Your presence adds light to our space, keep shining!
    xxx

  38. Hey lovely lady!

    This is a fantastic piece!

    poems surrounding occasions can fall flat at times, but not this poem! It sparks and incites the mind…as do the images!

    i will miss you when you leave for vacation!

    besitos,

    Annie

  39. A perfect Halloween package. xxoo

    Thanks! And thank you so much for your work on Poetry Potluck.

    Happy days …

  40. ooooh my my..
    This definitely is Halloween.. what spooky costumes Mandies.. 🙂

    This was a nice one to read- always doing it so differently and beautifully.. Hope you are doing well..

    Loads of Hugs.. xox

  41. Excellent post Amanda – and before we know it, it will be Christmas! Peace to you and yours! Thanks for sharing this awesome post for Halloween…oh, and by the way, how is Coco with fireworks?? Stormy HATES them!!! Thankfully she is okay inside the house but if she’s outside and hears one she is a shaking wreck! Poor girl. Chloe xx

Leave a comment